best soccer dropping odds footballdroppingodds.com dropping odds movements and best football odds for today
today football predictions from the experts todayfootballpredictions.com best football predictions and betting tips

by Christel Swasey

Living Healthy by Loving Lentils

Lentils intimidate some of us.  (I thought I was supposed to rinse them multiple times, let them soak for days, serve them only in India, or keep them safely repressed in the food storage area of the basement.)

Nope.  Lentils, I have learned, should be raised from their unfortunate low spot on the totem pole of first-choice things we want to eat for lunch.

Why? Because lentils are fantastic.  They are mild and versatile, filling, easy to use, inexpensive, and healthy– they’re loaded with protein, iron, zinc, and biotin.

There are different types of legumes that go by the name of lentils: there are brown/Spanish lentils, petite golden lentils, French/green lentils, small, medium, and large green lentils,  black/Beluga lentils, yellow/tan lentils, red lentils, Macachiados (big Mexican yellow lentils) –and the list goes on.

The best news is that lentils are so easy to cook!  Unlike other legumes, there’s no soaking, no boiling, and no long prep times required.

Just simmer lentils for 15 minutes– that’s the whole uncomplicated recipe for basic lentils.  And you are done:  they’re ready to eat.

Lentils are legendary for versatility.  They can star in anyting from facial scrubs to meat-less meatloaf to coconut soup to lentil cookies.

These yummy little pleasers are one of the most healthy diet choices on planet earth.  They’re totally fat free, totally cholesterol-free, extremely high in fiber and high in protein.  (10 grams per 1/4 cup serving).  Amazing little pods!

So, here you go:  fifty ways to love your lentils

  1.  Lentil Cookies  http://saffroncrush.com/lentil-cookies/
  2. Lentil Burgers  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/news/lentil-burger
  3. Lentil Soup http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/Recipes/story?id=7039586
  4. Lentil Loaf http://www.leftoverqueen.com/2010/02/08/recipe-wholesome-lentil-loaf
  5. Lentil and Quinoa Soup: http://www.savvyvegetarian.com/vegetarian-recipes/crockpot-quinoa-red-lentil-stew.php
  6. Pumpkin Lentil Muffins: http://www.pure2raw.com/2011/11/socca-pumpkin-lentil-muffins/
  7. Lentil Feta Salad http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/lentil-salad-with-feta-cheese-10000000665493/
  8. Lamb and Lentil Cobbler http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/lambandlentilcobbler_85791
  9. Lentils and Fennel with Sausage: http://www.diningchicago.com/blog/2011/02/16/eat-this-lentils-a-prehistoric-foodstuff/
  10. Lentil Curry http://allrecipes.com/recipe/red-lentil-curry/
  11. Salmon with Lentils http://www.epicurious.com/tools/searchresults?search=lentils
  12. Cod with Lentils http://www.epicurious.com/tools/searchresults?search=lentils
  13. Green Lentil Rice http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Rice-with-Green-Lentils-Raisins-and-Dates-366172
  14. Minty Orzo Lentils http://allrecipes.com/recipe/minty-orzo-lentil-and-feta-salad/
  15. Lentil and Bacon soup: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/01/dinner-tonight-lentil-and-bacon-soup-recipe.html
  16. Smoked Cheddar and Lentil Burgers http://www.health.com/health/recipe/0,,10000000457217,00.html
  17. Walnut Lentil Patties http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lentil-cakes-patties/
  18. Lentil Pudding http://www.spicytasty.com/indian-sweets/moong-dal-payasam-kheer-lentil-pudding/
  19. Red Lentil Balls http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/redlentilballs_2403
  20. Lentil Butter http://www.foodreference.com/html/adas-careh.html
  21. Pakistani Curry http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pakistani-lentil-curry/
  22. Cucumber Yogurt Curry http://indian.food.com/recipe/chicken-and-lentil-curry-with-cucumber-yogurt-290586
  23. Lentil Spread http://www.thefastertimes.com/recipes/2010/11/18/recipe-stolen-lentil-spread-revenge-is-sweet/
  24. Roasted Squash and Lentil Spread http://fatfreevegan.com/blog/2011/12/08/roasted-squash-red-lentil-spread/
  25. Indian Crabcake on Lentil Dal http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/indiancrabcakeonlent_91052
  26. Red Lentil Pate http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/red_lentil_pt_54625
  27. Black Lentil Salad http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/01/lentil-recipes_n_1070678.html#s448503&title=Black_Lentil_And
  28.  Lentil Shepherd’s Pie  http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/lentilshepherdspiewi_93532
  29.  Tandoori Chicken With Lentil Salad  http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/tandoori_chicken_with_45215
  30. Spinach and Lentil Broth http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/spinachandlentilbrot_83507
  31. Lentil Chili Salad http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/01/lentil-recipes_n_1070678.html#s448511&title=Lentil_Cilantro_And
  32. Lentil Coconut Soup http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/lentilcoconutandwilt_72715
  33. Sweet Potato and Lentil Pizza http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-potato-and-curried-red-lentil-pizza/
  34. Red Lentil Bread http://www.breadexperience.com/321-red-lentil-bread.html
  35. Lentil Asparagus Soup http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-lentil-soup-with-asparagus-tips/
  36. Lentil fry bread http://indianfood.about.com/od/breadrecipes/r/daalpoori.htm
  37. Lentil Flatbread http://naturalnoshing.wordpress.com/2011/09/25/lentils-bread/
  38. Meatless Lentil Meatloaf http://www.food.com/recipe/really-good-vegetarian-meatloaf-really-33921
  39. Lentil Baby Cereal http://www.netplaces.com/cooking-for-baby-toddlers/1218-months/rice-lentil-cereal.htm
  40. Acne Scar Removal Paste with Orange Lentils http://www.manjusbp.com/beauty-tip
  41. Peppermint Lentil Cake http://bakingdevils.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/jennys-chocolate-peppermint-cake-with-a-lentil-difference-2/
  42. Lentil Juggling Balls and Stress Balls http://www.artistshelpingchildren.org/seedsbeansartscraftsideasprojectskids.html
  43. Lentil Crafty Picture Frames http://somedaycrafts.blogspot.com/2011/09/fall-lentil-frames.html
  44. Lentils as Preschool Toys http://blog.gummylump.com/2011/03/colored-lentils-kids-crafts-project-69.html
  45. Gift Jar With Pretty Stacked Lentil Layers http://www.foodnetwork.com/holidays-and-parties/sealed-delivered-recipes-in-a-jar/index.html
  46. Fresh Sprouted Lentils http://www.ehow.com/how_4430691_sprout-lentils.html
  47. Moist Cocoa Lentil Cake http://positivelyprepared.blogspot.com/2009/06/moist-cocoa-lentil-cake.html
  48. Southwest Lentil Cakes With Creamy Lime Dressing http://www.wearenotmartha.com/2010/08/southwest-lentil-cakes-with-creamy-lime-dressing/
  49. Bengali Dhoka Lentil Cakes http://www.bongcookbook.com/2010/02/dhokar-dalna-lesson-in-lentil-cakes.html
  50. Dairy Free Lentil Quiche http://bakingdevils.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/jennys-chocolate-peppermint-cake-with-a-lentil-difference-2/

 

Lentils are great, but they can’t get you good deals on health insurance. Use the form above to find and compare health insurance quotes.

 

 

Comments are closed.